Why Is Dropbox Syncing To My Desktop?

Dropbox is one of the most innovative services in the cloud storage and file sharing space, but why is Dropbox syncing all your folders to your desktop?

When installed on your PC or Mac, the Dropbox app will create a save folder on your hard drive and save all your Dropbox files there. If you don’t want some or any of your folders to be stored on your hard drive, you can use Selective Sync to select the files you don’t want to be saved locally.

Read on to find out why Dropbox is syncing files to your desktop and how you can stop Dropbox from syncing.

Dropbox Logo Blue

Why Does Dropbox Save Files On Your Computer?

When you install the Dropbox app on your computer, it will automatically create a Dropbox save folder on your hard drive. Dropbox will automatically save every file in your account to this folder so you can access your files just like you would any other files on your desktop. Having your files saved on your desktop will allow you to access them easily even when you do not have an internet connection.

While having your Dropbox files easily accessible on your hard drive can be convenient, users with a large amount of Dropbox files saved to their account may not want all their files synced to their computer. Having every single file synced can take up a lot of precious hard drive space and can slow down your computer if your hard drives are close to full. In our next section, we will show you how to prevent folders from automatically syncing to your desktop’s hard drive.

How Do You Stop Dropbox From Syncing To Your Desktop

Stopping Dropbox from syncing to your desktop is made easy with the Selective Sync feature. Selective Sync allows you to choose which folders will save to your device. Selective Sync is a useful feature, but it can sometimes be difficult to find.

Follow these steps to find and use Selective Sync:

How To Use Selective Sync on PC:

  1. Find the Dropbox Icon on your taskbar on the bottom right-hand side of your screen. If you cannot see it, click the up arrow to show overflow icons. Always use the taskbar icon to access Dropbox’s app, if you click the icon on your desktop it will open your Dropbox folder in the file manager which has no way to access your settings.
  2. Click the icon to open the Dropbox app
  3. Click on your profile in the upper right-hand corner (will be your initials or your chosen Dropbox avatar).
  4. A menu will pop up, click preferences about halfway down the list.
  5. On the far right will be Sync, click on it.
  6. On the sync page, click on Selective Sync.
  7. You will see all the Dropbox folders saved to your PC pop up in a new window.
  8. Uncheck the box next to any folder you do not want to sync to your PC, if you don’t want any folders to sync make sure no boxes are checked.
  9. Click update and the unchecked folders will be removed from your PC.

If you’re still having trouble, use this Youtube Tutorial:

How To Use Selective Sync on Mac:

  1. Click the Dropbox icon on the top right of your screen.
  2. Click on your profile on the top right of the new window.
  3. Click Preferences.
  4. On the far right will be Sync, click on it.
  5. Click Select Folders under Selective Sync.
  6. A new window will pop up with all your saved Dropbox folders
  7. Uncheck the boxes next to every folder you do not want to be saved to your hard drive, if you don’t want any folders saved make sure every box is unchecked.
  8. Click update and the unchecked folders will be removed from your PC.

If you are still having trouble, try this Youtube tutorial:

Note: You will still be able to access all folders on Dropbox.com.

Leave a Comment